Grilled Chicken and Chiles with Cheese Sauce

Standard

Whenever I make up a recipe, I hold my breath and hope for the best! Now that my husband is on a modified Keto diet (I say modified because he refuses to eat veggies), making dinner is even more challenging to come up with something tasty and interesting.

As I was staring at the uncooked chicken breasts in the fridge, I couldn’t think of what to do with them. We’ve had them baked with mushrooms, made into chicken nuggets, served plain with canned green beans, and sauteed with mushrooms. (He will eat mushrooms and will ONLY eat green beans from a can. So I guess he does eat some veggies – I guess.😆)

Finally, I noticed the fresh green chiles I picked up at the store this morning. I thought of the yummy Chile Rellenos casserole my friend Julia makes (yuuummmm!). With my wheels turning, I decided to put the chicken and the chiles on the grill.

Can I just pause for a moment and tell you how HEAVENLY that smelled!

Then I whipped up a cheesy sauce, poured it over the chicken and chiles, put it under the broiler, then topped with fresh diced tomatoes. I loved the contrast of the cold tomatoes to the hot, bubbling cheese and even the kick of the chiles! (Surprise to me…I thought they were mild. Boy did I get a shock when I took a mouthful.)

Either way, the dish got a two thumbs up and there wasn’t a nibble left over. My husband was a bit disappointed because he wanted leftovers for tomorrow.

Unfortunately, since I wasn’t sure the dish would turn out, the only photo I have is the one of the grill (which I took for Instagram while I was standing there watching the food).grilled chicken chile

Below is the recipe – again, no measurements! Sorry. I am putting down the approximate amount.

CHICKEN & CHILES WITH CHEESE SAUCE

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 Chicken breasts
  • Green chiles, approximately 4-6 medium to large ones
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • sour cream (about 1/4 cup? A couple a large scoops)
  • Heavey cream or milk (4-6 Tbls?)
  • Shredded cheese (whatever you like. I used a mix of Monterey jack, cheddar, and mozzarella)
  • Cumin, ground
  • Garlic powder
  • Salt
  • Chopped tomatoes

Grill the chicken until cooked through. Grill chiles until soft. Watch closely, they burn quickly. Turn once. Slice chicken into thick slices. Cut chiles in half, scrape out seeds, cut off tops.

Using an oven safe dish, layer the chiles at the bottom of the pan. Place chicken slices on top. Sprinkle with cumin, garlic, and salt.

In a medium bowl, mix together the softened cream cheese, sour cream, and heavy cream or milk. It should be very thick, like condensed soup. Pour over the chicken and chiles. Top with grated cheese.

Bake at 385 for about 10 minutes and then turn the oven to broil on high until the cheese is brown. Watch closely.

Let sit for 10 minutes and top with chopped tomatoes.

Enjoy!! Let me know if you try it!

Leave a Reply

