Hot Fat Cacao & Coffee

Standard

I love reading about nutrition and how certain foods or recipes help or hurt our body. It can be overwhelming, so I have to admit that sometimes I kind of freeze up and revert back to “easy” habits. The goal, ultimately, is to create second-nature habits that are also good for me!

Recently I came across a recipe for a drink that is good for you and yummy (woot! woot!). The best part is, I was already used to making coffee or hot tea several times a day. This would naturally fit right in with what I am already used.

I have been making these drinks for a couple months now and have to say I’m hooked! Since I first heard about these healthy fat hot beverages, I have noticed several nutritional coaches recommending them. I wouldn’t say it is mainstream yet, but the fact that it is included in the regime of multiple nutritionists gives it credibility (in my mind).

HOT FAT CACAOrab-fyfe-199702

My favorite is the Hot Fat Cacao. I have decided to replace my evening dessert with this healthy drink. Soooooo creamy, smooth and rich with healthy fats. My sweet tooth hasn’t missed a thing.

I’ve experimented with this drink and altered the recipe until it was perfect for me. Do the same for yourself. The main thing is that you want a healthy fat in the drink and minimal sweetener.  **As always, I am horrible at measuring ingredients, so

**As always, I am terrible at measuring ingredients, so all measurements listed are approximate.**

Try it and enjoy!

  • 1 cup hot liquid: I use almond milk and filtered water
  • 1 tablespoon-ish of organic cacao (NOT cocoa. There’s a difference. I use the Dagoba brand).
  • A drizzle of honey or maple syrup. (You want to keep the sugar content as low as possible). Stay away from refined sugar or brown sugar.
  • 2 Tbl grass fed butter. I use Kerry Gold. (Yep. You read that right. You can also use 1 Tbl butter and 1 Tbl coconut oil, or MCT oil).
  • A splash of real vanilla

Warm the almond milk on low heat. In a separate kettle, bring water to a boil. Using a blender that has a steam valve for hot liquids, combine all ingredients and blend for 20-30 seconds.

The result is a frothy, creamy, smooth, delicacy!

HOT FAT COFFEE

nick-karvounis-156086

When you are brewing your morning coffee, why not turn it into a healthy fat drink that will give you energy for the morning?

Simply add a bit of grass fed butter or coconut oil to your coffee, and you’re set! (Remember, no sugar. Use a small amount of honey if you need to).

Tip:  Combine the coffee and butter in a blender versus stirring for the best texture.

Drink up, my friends!

Leave a Reply

