Red, White, & Blueberry Coleslaw

Standard

I was asked to make coleslaw for a dinner this last week for a large group of people at church. I think they were expecting bagged coleslaw and bottled sauce…that would have been the easiest, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do that so I decided to make my favorite recipe and hoped they would like it.

My family prefers basic, no frills, packaged food without any “extra” stuff. As a result, when I prepare foods from scratch at home, it is not always enjoyed or appreciated. (Which means, I make separate meals for everyone because I like fresh, organic foods.) Similarly, I wasn’t sure what this crowd of folks would like, but being one who tends to color outside of the lines anyway, I thought I’d give it a shot.

Pretending like nothing was out of the ordinary, I didn’t say anything to anyone,┬áset the bowl on the table, and hoped the evening would go without a hitch.

The result? It was a huge hit! (Whew)

Of course, everyone wanted the recipe, so here it is:

RED, WHITE, AND BLUE COLESLAW

(in case you can’t read the graphic, I have typed the recipe below)

coleslaw

RECIPE:

  • Approx 6 cups green and red cabbage mixed (total. not each!)
  • 1 small red onion
  • 6 strips of crisp bacon, chopped
  • 1/2 cup dried blueberries
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 2 Tbl apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbl. sugar
  • 1/2 toasted chopped pecans
  • Salt and pepper

Mix everything together and refrigerate 1-4 hours.

Leave a Reply

